The Lane Train

News and Pop Culture for the Blog Generation

The Mighty Wrath of Kanye West

Posted by thelanetrain on June 26, 2008

Last week we reported that rapper and frequent troublemaker Kanye West pissed off a lot of hippies and privileged college kids at Bonnaroo when he took the stage after Pearl Jam at 4:30 am.  He was greeted by angry fans, people throwing trash at him, and all around boos.  Well, a week and a half after his infamous performance, Kanye finally took off the stunna shades and spoke out on his blog, and let me tell ya: it ain’t pretty.  The rapper blames Pearl Jam, the fans, and the road crew for making his highly anticipated performance a night an early morning that will live in infamy…until he does something pompous and retarded again.

After The Jump: Kanye gets up all in our grill

Our friends over at People.com were the first to break the news on Kanye’s broken silence.  Apparently, Kanye was sincerely apologetic, but being that he’s Kanye, he wasn’t going to go down without a fight. The article included a link to Kanye’s blog, which looks as if it was ghost-written by a Myspace-addicted sixteen-year old girl.  But the blog post about the Bonnaroo incident is, needless to say, priceless.  At this point in, everything we quote from the blog will be verbatim as said by Kanye himself.

First, Kanye needed to assert his masculinity and heterosexuality, because god forbid anyone would link his two-hours-too-late performance to him being possibly gay:

I understand if people don’t like me because I like me or if people think tight clothes look gay or people say I run my mouth to much,  But this Bonnaroo thing is the worst insult I’ve ever had in my life. This is the most offended I’ve ever been… this is the maddest I ever will be.  I’m typing so fucking hard I might break my fucking Mac book Air!!!!!!!!

Dude I totally understand, I mean, being shown up by Pearl Jam and being forced to play two hours late will bring me to the brink of my madness.  I mean, this is like sooooo much worse than this was for you, honestly.

But Kanye was just getting started.  The blog post continues:

THIS SHOWS NO MATTER HOW HARD YOU TRY  TO BE GOOD AT SOMETHING THERE WILL BE PEOPLE THERE TO LIE ABOUT YOU AND BRING YOU DOWN!  LIKE WAYNE SAYS PLEASE DON’T SHOOT ME DOWN CAUSE I’M FLYING!  I’M FUCKING HURT BY THIS ONE. ALL I CARE ABOUT ARE THE FANS.  JUST SAY THIS OUT LOUD IN  A ROOM FULL OF PEOPLE, “KANYE DOESN’T CARE ABOUT GIVING A GOOD PERFORMANCE.”  CAN ANYONE HONESTLY SAY THAT ?????????      HAS ANYONE EVEN TAKEN THE TIME TO AT LEAST  DO THE MATH???  BONNAROO SHOULD HAVE RELEASED A STATEMENT IN MY DEFENSE BUT SINCE THEY HAVEN’T LET’S BREAK DOWN THE WALLS ON THIS TRUMAN SHOW AND LET YOU KNOW WHAT REALLY OCCURRED!!!

Oh fuck, he’s got the caps lock goin on.  He must be really, really, angry, and I wanna know what “really occurred three exclamation points.”

FOR OVER A MONTH WE WENT BACK AND FORTH ON WETHER OR NOT WE COULD EVEN FIT MY STAGE AT THE FESTIVAL. ONE DAY THEY WOULD SAY YES… WE’D SEND THEM OUR SPECS THEN THEY THEY’D SAY OK… THEN THEY WOULD SEND SPECS BACK THAT DIDN’T FIT THE STAGE. WE WERE OBVIOUSLY DEALING WITH FUCKING IDIOTS WHO DIDN’T REALLY HAVE THE CAPACITY TO REALLY PUT ON THIS SHOW PROPERLY.  THEY TRIED 2 GIVE ME A TIME SLOT WERE IT WAS STILL LIGHT OUTSIDE … I HAVE A FUCKING LIGHT SHOW DUMB ASS, IT’S NOT CALLED GLOW IN THE DARK FOR NO REASON SQUID BRAINS!  MY PEOPLE WORKED OUT A COMPROMISED STAGE PLOT AND A 3AM TIME SLOT AND I AGREED.

Um…if we’re gonna be technical, it was really 2:45, but apparently you were originally slotted at 8.  And maybe if you know you’re gonna be at a huge festival with restless hippies going on nothing but caffeine, pot, and nicotine, is a light show really the best thing to plan?

THE FESTIVAL WOULDN’T ALLOW US TO DO ANYTHING UNTILL PEARL JAM LEFT THE STAGE. PEARL JAM ENDED ONE HOUR
LATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  AT THAT POINT WE’RE RACING AGAINST THE SUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Note to self:  To win a race against the sun, use exclamation points.  And lots of them.  Either that or the “1” key was stuck.

I HIT THE STAGE AND PEOPLE HAD BEEN THROWING SHIT ON THE STAGE AND HAD ACTUALLY HIT THE JANE SCREEN WITH, I GUESS BOTTLES OR SOMETHING AND HAD BROKEN MY FUCKING SCREEN.  REMEMBER WHEN YOU WERE A SHORTY AND WATER WOULD HIT THE TV??????  WHEN I GOT 2 “THROUGH THE WIRE” I STEPPED ON  THE FRONT PART OF MY STAGE AND THERE WAS SO MUCH LIQUID ON THE STAGE  I COULDN’T MOVE WITHOUT SLIPPING. I HAD TO ADJUST MY WHOLE PERFORMANCE STYLE BECAUSE OF IT.  A FEW MORE SONGS IN AND THE SONG WAS ON IT’S WAY UP.. I  CUT A FEW SONGS FROM THE SET BECAUSE  I  WANTED PEOPLE 2 EXPERIENCE STRONGER WHILE THERE WAS STILL SOME DARKNESS TO PERFORM IT IN.

Yeah, they broke your fucking screen, but you’re Kanye West.  Just snap your fingers and you have a new one coming.  Besides, if you’re concerned about breaking shit, don’t type so hard, you might break your Macbook Air, remember?  And like, I know you’re Kanye and you have this whole image and style thing to keep up, but when its 5am and everyone hates you, do you really need to change your entire routine and custom tailor it to a bunch of people who now hate you?  When most of your fans are now fast asleep?

I’M SORRY TO EVERYONE THAT I DIDN’T HAVE THE ABILITY 2 GIVE THE PERFORMANCE I WANTED TO. I’M SORRY…  SOMETIMES I GO 2, 3 DAYS W/O SLEEP WORKING ON MY PERFORMANCE… I HAVE TO ICE MY KNEES AFTER EVERY SHOW AND THEY HURT WHEN I WALK THROUGH THE AIRPORT… HAVING AN EXPENSIVE STAGE CUTS MY PAYDAY IN HALF… CALL ME WHAT YOU WANT BUT NEVER SAY I DIDN’T GIVE MY ALL!!!

Yeah yeah yeah, we get it.

Our advice to Kanye:  If you were really concerned about “artistic integrity”, performing songs as the way they were meant to be, yadda yadda yadda, you should have taken the earlier timeslot instead of pissing off a ton of people.  And seriously, who the fuck disrespects Pearl Jam?  You’re a flash in the pan compared to them.  Yeah, you might be toting Cristal and Stunnas, but in terms of history and artistic integrity, well to put it in terms you can understand, “You ain’t got shit on those shawties.”

Peace.

(Image via AOL)

One Response to “The Mighty Wrath of Kanye West”

  1. 808s & Heartbreak…

    West went to classify 808s & Heartbreak as a pop songs, stating his disdain towards the contemporary backlash to the concept of pop music and expressed admiration for what some pop stars have accomplished in their lives….

Leave a Reply

 
