The Lane Train

News and Pop Culture for the Blog Generation

WTF #7: Starbucks Iced Caramel Macchiato

Posted by thelanetrain on June 18, 2008

The way my day typically works is that after I hop off the subway, I head over to Starbucks and pick up something caffeinated and the paper (so I can do the crossword and get some leads for the blog). Today I decided to switch things up and instead of getting my usual, I decided to try the Iced Caramel Macchiato. When served hot, it’s pretty tasty. Cold, however, is an entirely different story.

Notwithstanding the fact that I had to wait forever, I actually got to see the baristas making me the sickeningly sweet concoction. They start with a base of vanilla syrup. They opened up a new bottle to make mine, but when the barista started pouring it into my cup, the following exchange occurred:

BARISTA #1: Whoa! That’s WAAAY too much syrup! Are you sure that’s ok?

BARISTA #2: Yeah, because they’re not gonna know, and if they complain, whatever.

To complete the recipe, they fill the whole cup up with milk, dump in a huge scoop of ice, then dump in two very tiny shots of espresso, followed by a generous serving of caramel sauce. It is horrifically sweet, not very caffeinated, and I’m still sleepy. Plus they charge like four bucks for this shit. What the hell is wrong with them? Can I please get some coffee with my cup of milk-sugar?

Needless to say, I’ll never order an iced macchiato again. In fact, I’d much rather have this instead.

Leave a Reply

 
