The Lane Train

News and Pop Culture for the Blog Generation

Weekend Wrapup – Hookah, Brooklyn, and Father’s Day

Posted by thelanetrain on June 16, 2008

It’s nice not to blog about pop culture media sometimes, and this weekend, I took refuge from furiously scouring the internet for stories (which I’ll resume at the end of this post…I have one lined up already). My cousin came to visit for the weekend and stayed over at the apartment. After some catching up, I headed to midtown to meet Kristen and Jeremy for a nice relaxing evening in the East Village. I found my favorite sketchy hookah bar and the three of us spent an hour there sipping Egyptian Lemonades and smoking banana hookah. Along the way, there was an interesting conversation where Jeremy informed Kristen about the time he first met her (which, according to him, she didn’t remember at all), and needless to say, some awkward conversation and glances followed. Something about a frat party, some drinks, and hookup embarassment¬†strange alcohol-fueled evening between mutual friends at a frat party. Fun times!

Saturday ended up being much more relaxed than I wanted it to. Sanyu was in town visiting some museums and hanging out in Brooklyn, while I told Kristen that I wanted to go to Vampire Weekend. Unfortunately, both parties thought I was gonna hang out with the other, which led to me doing neither, which was good because around 4 it started raining buckets and I stayed in. Later, I ended up hiking out to Williamsburg which involved staring down the Lexington Avenue platform at a 4 train sitting just feet away from the station, which then led to me getting soaked in the rain trying to hail a taxi, which got caught in traffic, so I hopped out at 33rd street and took the subway the rest of the way to Williamsburg. So glad to see Sanyu after a nearly two year hiatus. After wandering around for an hour, we got some pizza, then I said goodbye and hopped the subway home.

Sunday, Father’s Day, was a boring day, save for the family drama that ensued at my Aunt’s house in Scarsdale, but I enjoyed some tasty steak. Mostly a housecleaning day with getting my food prepared for the week, doing laundry, and catching up, but nonetheless, hoping that the week and next weekend will be much more exciting.

One Response to “Weekend Wrapup – Hookah, Brooklyn, and Father’s Day”

  1. ktauyo said

    You make it sound like I hooked up with him!!!! I did no such thing!!!

Leave a Reply

 
